Where were you on 9/11?

I know this doesn’t fit in with my blog theme, but I thought it would be interesting to hear everyone’s answers.

We all know exactly were we were and what we were doing.  I don’t think anyone will forget.  I remember it well.

I was in the 7th grade.  I had just gotten to school.  My teacher had the TV on when I got into my first class.  Both buildings had been hit but as we were watching, the Today Show had put another video on of the pentagon.  My teacher wondered out loud if anything else would be hit.  I didn’t understand the implications at the time, but I remember knowing that it was a big deal.

Later that day, the entire school had a moment of silence for those whose lives were lost.  All I remember thinking is that this moment was the quietest moment of my life.  Not a single peep left anyone’s mouths.  Even kids who normally caused trouble remained silent.  I haven’t ever had silence like I did on that day.

I may have only been in Iowa, but it still affected me and other people in my community.  And I know the entire country was affected by the events on September 11, 2001.

 

Published in: on September 10, 2010 at 3:39 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kschille.wordpress.com/2010/09/10/where-were-you-on-911/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

